Beginning the Challenge

A new year, a new challenge.

For January, I’m starting the Food Stamp Challenge again. I wrote about the conditions for this exercise already, so I won’t repeat, but I hopefully I’ll keep up the weekly updates.

Groceries for the First Week

For the first week, I hoped to spend $20 in groceries in preparation for the challenge. Luckily, I have most of my necessities on hand before heading to the store, so I didn’t need to pick up much. It’s going to be eggplant week to kick off this Food Stamp Challenge (FSC) and what better way than with a vitamin packed fruit.

Here’s the list of this week’s groceries from Trader Joe’s:

  • Sweet crisp canned corn ($ 0.89)
  • Light Coconut Milk -canned ($0.99)
  • 1 large eggplant ($1.39)
  • 1 dozen large white eggs ($1.49)
  • 8 bananas – $0.19 each ($1.52)
  • White mushrooms – 8 oz. carton ($1.69)
  • Baby Spinach – ($1.99)
  • Blood Oranges – 2 lb bag ($1.99)
  • Organic Multigrain Oatmeal ($2.29)

Total Amount Spent: $14.24
Amount Remaining: $35.76

Hopefully I planned this week well so I won’t have to waste any food and it will last me all week and perhaps next week as well. I’m starting this challenge officially on January 4th since I was visiting my family previously. Also, I will do my best to keep all my meals and snacks balanced and healthy. There will no MSG and no overly processed foods this month unless specified. I’m hoping that through this challenge, I will demonstrate that healthy eating is not expensive and it’s not complicated either.

I don’t clip coupons and I don’t read the weekly grocery ads. I just plan out the entire month, but I’m flexible with my menu based on the items at the store and what appeals to me. This isn’t the only way to be healthy and cheap, but this is my way of eating healthy for the new year.

What’s on this weeks’ dinner menu?

  • Eggplant Parmesan with Pasta
  • Modified Ratatouille or Confit Byaldi with Pasta
  • Eggplant Stew with Harvest Blend (Couscous, beans, barley, quinoa)
Leave a Reply

