Starting Up Again

I’ve tried the Food Stamp Challenge about twice this year and starting January 2010, I’ll be kicking it off again. This time, it’s gonna be crazy intense! I’ll be setting aside a cash budget of $50 in an envelope so it will be easier to track. I can shop as many times during the month as I want as long as I keep under the budget.

There are some conditions that I’ve set aside:

  • No coupons unless it is already marked off with my rewards cards
  • No processed/frozen food (unless it’s sausage and tofu)
  • Must have balanced meals (no living off of ramen and mac&cheese)
  • Can eat out twice this month (leftovers not allowed and prices don’t count in budget)
  • Spices, oil, and 10 other things in the pantry does not count (it’s a bit cheating, but it’s already in the fridge and I don’t want them to go to waste)

A lot of people say that in order to be healthy, you have to spend a lot more money than to be unhealthy. But I want to prove them wrong, it can be done…to be healthy and to be cheap are not mutually exclusive. Sure, it might not be possible for me to buy organic, but it will be ok. This challenge would probably be pretty tough, but I’m sure I can do it.

In the 50’s people had victory gardens and even Mrs. Obama recently set up a White House vegetable garden! As for me, since I live in an apartment, I am only growing basil and parsley. I don’t really have time to take care of any more plants. So, I’m not really cheating with my basil and parsley.

I’ll try to keep a better record of everything…pictures and all! Wish me luck!

One response to “Starting Up Again

  1. Pingback: Starting-Up-Again : Sysmaya

Leave a Reply

