Food Drama

gourmetkdrama

I love watching food programs and learning new things about food. My faves are Ace of Cakes, Dinner:Impossible, anything with Giada, Throwdown with Bobby Flay, and Unwrapped. However, few programs have prompted me to actually try the recipes or go to the restaurants that are recommended. I’m not sure why exactly, but it doesn’t motivate me to cook.

Recently, I got into Korean dramas from DramaFever and I was hooked. Gourmet is one amazing series that just makes me want to learn to cook Korean food…and be a better cook in general. Not only do they make life behind the restaurant super dramatic, the food itself becomes a character. Taste becomes the overall theme…when the taste changes, something just isn’t right.

When a restaurant becomes franchised, what happens to the taste? Is it still the same as when it was only one restaurant? I’ve been thinking about that quite a bit and I wish that I could say that the taste never changes.

For example, when Chili’s was a smaller chain, I loved its Broccoli Cheese Soup because it was hot, flavorful, and cheesy. That was one of the reasons I went to Chili’s. However, the Broccoli Cheese Soup now tastes pretty bland, watered down, and sometimes, comes out slightly cold. Now, I rarely go to Chili’s unless it’s someone’s party. What happened? Seriously, when the taste changes…it’s not quite what I remembered and it no longer appeals to me.

Lately, I’ve stayed away from chain restaurants and franchises in the hopes of finding some great local restaurants that pride itself on having great food and great service at affordable prices. My most recent finds are Bean Sprouts and Bar Food. When I think about both establishments, I think about the time they took to craft their signature dishes and the sincerity of the people in the kitchen. If all restaurants were up to that standard, I’d eat out all the time!

Leave a Reply

