Grilled Cheese Invitational

I went to the grilled cheese invitational last week. I wanted to be a judge, but I’m glad I didn’t because it would have been a lot to try to eat lots of grilled cheese…even if it’s not that great. So, I ended up going there around 2pm and while standing in line, the price of admission went from $5 to 2 people for $5, to free when I got to the front of the line. So, I got in free!

Once inside, since there were no more judging tickets, I went off to get the freebies, which consisted of Kraft grilled cheese sandwiches and Izze drinks. The Izze tent was pretty bare when I got there and it seemed like they would run out quickly after I go there…there was only one flavor left and it wasn’t too bad. In fact, it reminded me of Manzana Lift when I went to Ensenada.  As for the grilled cheese sandwiches, it wasn’t too bad fighting through the crowds. But it seemed like the Kraft representatives were being a bit strict about the lines, even though it was just a mass of people crowding around the table. Still, I got my grilled cheese and it was ok. Nothing special, but what do you expect?

After getting freebies and scoping out the competitors and the main stage, it didn’t seem like there was much else to do. The entertainment stage was right in front of the Kraft tent, so it was a bit challenging to maneuver between the two. The entertainment was cheesy….but that’s expected, right? From cheese haikus to lounge songs and etc, it was a wide and vast array of grilled cheese-related media. Anyways, I didn’t stay for much longer, but it was a worthwhile experience for free. However, it wasn’t that great that I was in line longer than how long I stayed at the grilled cheese invitational. But for a first annual experience, there’s at least room for improvement.

Onto some pictures!

gc7

The Grilled Cheese Invitational was held at the LA State Park

gc2

The line at 2PM, it did not look promising.

gc6

Once inside, the main stage with all its trophies looked pretty cool.

gc3

Some of the competitors making their grilled cheese

gc4

The entertainment stage with cheesy songs!

gc5

My freebies…grilled cheese and an Izze drink

2 responses to “Grilled Cheese Invitational

  1. Hi, good post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll certainly be coming back to your site.

  2. Hi, good post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for writing. I will certainly be coming back to your site.

Leave a Reply

