April Update

Since this was the first month on the Food Stamp Challenge, I didn’t know what to expect. I had a couple things spoil during the month, I ran out of veggies and fruit by the end of the 3rd week, and I definitely ate out too much (10 times!) Next month, I need to break up my grocery shopping to twice a month to prevent spoilage and to plan my meals better, especially breakfast and lunch. After a while, I got bored eating the same food for the week.

Overall, for April, I spent $54.54 on groceries and $201.99 on eating out. In total, I’ve spent $256.53 on food for the entire month, which is lower than I usually spend, but still quite high.

So, for May, eating out is limited to 5 days out of the entire month. The grocery budget is $60, which is about $2 a day, which is ok since I get to plan this better. And this will encompass breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I must buy more vegetables and fruit. It’s a good start, but I think I should make this a more permanent challenge and see how things will go. I’m pretty sure I can do this challenge and still be healthy.

Leave a Reply

