Buttercake Bakery

The second cupcakery.

When I walked into the bakery, it wasn’t what I expected at all. There was a small counter of their baked goods and the entire kitchen was in full view of the customer…and the workers didn’t look happy. There was one person working the counter and he was so casual about the items that it seemed like this was just another job for him. Three tables to my left indicated that people could sit down and eat, but it looked like few ever chose that option. As for the baked items, there wasn’t much selection and it wasn’t displayed all that prettily…but I wanted to give this place a try.

I ordered a Red Velvet cupcake, the Vanilla Buttercream cupcake, and a Lemon Bar. The total came out to about $7, which was actually quite cheap and if they were good, I’d luck out!

Onto the Taste Test

First, the Red Velvet cupcake. The color of the cupcake looked darker than I’ve seen, it had a reddish brown look to it as if they added too much cocoa to the batter. The frosting and the sprinkles were appealing and I hoped they were delicious. At first bite, I was saddened. The cake tasted more like a day old, crumbly chocolate cake than a Red Velvet. Then, the frosting was so sweet I couldn’t even make out the cream cheese and the sprinkles just didn’t work…it was just more sugar overkill.

Then, I went for the lemon bar as a break. It had a good appearance, the texture was smooth and custard-like. It tasted like eggs…and only eggs. After a second, I was hit with a sweet kick and a slight lemon flavor. The eggy  taste and the abundance of sugar did not help. I was saddened.

Afterwards, I figured I should try the Vanilla Buttercream because it seemed to be Buttercake’s signature cupcake. It looked pretty enough, but I was a bit skeptical. The cupcake was dry…and the vanilla flavor was minimal at best. However, the frosting was buttery, which was a plus. Still, the large amount of sugar in the frosting made it difficult to take. It was another sugar overload.

I heard pretty decent reviews about this place, but it might have just been hype. The cupcakes were dry and uninspired while the frosting had way too much sugar. I’d have to say that this isn’t one of the better places and I would bake on my own than venture to this establishment.

Pictures

buttercake1

buttercake2

buttercake3

Store Info

Buttercake Bakery

10595 W. Pico Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90064

Leave a Reply

